Visit our RECIPE website

Sign In



The AGM is your opportunity to learn more about our amazing national community garden movement. It also is an opportunity to play a formal role in ACFCGN by standing for a committee position.

Meeting details

WHEN: Tuesday 16 October 2018 — 8-9pm
WHERE: The teleconference will be held via ZOOM at 7:55pm ESDT for a 8:00pm start.

NOTE: Be aware daylight saving will be happening on the east coast.


  • First Nations’ acknowledgement and welcome to attendees
  • appointment of chair
  • approve minutes of previous AGM 2017
  • Presidents report (download as a pdf document)
  • Treasurers Report (download as a pdf document)
  • Membership Report
  • election of office bearers
  • appointment of a returning officer
  • committee members positions declared vacant
  • nomination and election of new committee.

Committee positions

  • President — facilitates committee meetings
  • Vice President — facilitates committee meetings in the Presidents absence
  • Secretary — maintains the register of members, keeps custody of the common seal, provides members with access to the register of members, minutes general meetings and other books and documents
  • Treasurer  — manages payments and receipts of moneys and issues receipts, keep financial records and prepare financial statement prior to AGM
  • Media Liaison Officer — liaise with media when needed
  • Membership Secretary — manages online membership system
  • each state/territory has one representative who are part of the committee — being a state representative is a great way to feel out the workings of the organisation prior to taking on one of the positions mentioned above. Some of the tasks might involve organising a state support team to help organise regional gatherings and help support local community gardens if possible.

Our 2017-18 committee

  • President — John McBain (WA)
  • Vice President — Naomi Lacey (NT)
  • Secretary — Joel Orchard (NSW)
  • Treasurer — John Brisbin (QLD)
  • Media liaison — Russ Grayson (NSW)
  • Membership secretary — Jane Mowbray (NSW)

State representatives

  • QLD — Damien Gillett
  • NSW — Vacant
  • NT — Vacant
  • SA — Christy Spiers (support team Alex Miller)
  • TAS — Jo Dean
  • VIC — Lorna Martin (support team Peta Christensen and Merrin Layden)
  • WA — Anthony Rudolf.

View photos and bio of 2017/18 team.

You can view more details about ACFCGN by downloading our Rules of Association.


We are also seeking people with skills and experience in:

  • liaison with the media and compiling media releases when needed and helping with social media
  • website support volunteer to help with our WordPress website and social media.

How can I nominate someone or myself onto the committee?

To participate in the AGM and/or stand for a position, you must be a financial member (other than an associate member ie a funded or unfunded garden member) of ACFCGN.

You are entitled to vote if:

  • you are a member other than an associate member (ie. unfunded or funded garden member)
  • more than 10 business days have passed since you have become a member of the association
  • your membership rights have not been suspended for any reason.